cope logo

CPT: 021 403 8915

JHB: 011 805 0445

08:00 - 17:00

Monday to Friday

Teboho Loate

Teboho Loate was born on 7 April 1956 in Alexander, Johannesburg. He obtained the Senior Certificate at Mariazell High School, Matatiele in 1976. In 1979 he obtained the Junior Secondary Teacher’s Diploma from Tshiya College of Education, QwaQwa. He acquired the Advanced Diploma: Public Administration (1999); Certificate: Public Policy Management (2000); the Bachelor: Management Leadership (2003); Postgraduate Diploma: Governance and Political Transformation (2014) from the University of the Free State. He is currently registered for the degree LLB at the same university.

He attended further training courses at the University of the Western Cape (1991); the University of London, UK; Brathway Development and Training Institute, ,Ambleside, UK(1992); Darlington Tech , Devon, UK 1992; Institute For Democracy in South Africa (1994); University of the Witwatersrand (1994); School for Public Management and Administration (SAMMDI) Pretoria (1997); German Foundation for International Development (DSE) Germany (1997); University of Leicester, UK (1998); University of the Witwatersrand & Raoul Wallenberg Institute (1998); The Eisenhower Fellowship, USA (2001); Institute for Public Finance and Auditing(2002), PALAMA (2009)

In 1977 he started his teaching career at Makajane Primary School in Bultfontein. In 1980-1981, Namedi High School, Diepkloof, Soweto; 1982 Lekhulong High School, Batho, Bloemfontein; 1983-1986 HOD Auxilliary Services; Hlonamang Secondary School, Botshabelo; Head Master Lefikeng High School 1986-1991, Botshabelo.
On returning from the UK he was appointed as the Free State Provincial Director of the Institute for Democracy in South Africa (IDASA) (1993 until 1996). He joined the Free State Provincial Administration as Director: Policy – Department of Public Safety, Security and Liaison in (1996). In 2000 he became Deputy Director: Monitoring and Evaluation; Director: Crime Prevention and Community Liaison during (2001 – May 2004); Director: Communications (May 2004 – 2005). In 2005 he became the Chief Director: Corporate Services in the Department of Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation.

During the period 2002 to 2004 while employed as Director Crime Prevention in the Department of Public Safety and Security, he was instrumental in leading the eradicating of gangs in and around Bohlokong, Bethlehem. This intervention brought to an end all gang activities in local schools and the township.
Mr Loate also pursued his interest in education through involvement in various programmes occupying key positions such as: Chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the Language Methods and Programmes(LMAP) (1991-2002); Founder and Committee Member of the Need Programme(1989-1996);South African Representative and Executive Committee Member of the South African Advance Education Project (SAAEP UK) (1993-1995).

He served the community as Vice Chairperson and founder member of BOPTU (Botshabelo Progressive Teachers Union); PRO – SADTU, Botshabelo Branch; Board Member: King Finance Institute; Chairperson – Free State Rural Development Forum; Chairperson: Bloemfontein Magistrate Lay Assessors Committee; Member of the

Bloemfontein Business Against Crime; Overall Convener for Community Constituency – National Economic Development and Labour Council (NEDLAC).
In 1994, Mr Loate was appointed by the late Prof Kadar Asmal and served as ministerial representative on the Council of the Central University of Technology, Free State, later to be reappointed and confirmed by Minister Naledi Pandor until 2014. He chaired the Council from 2000 to 2010. He made important contributions as member of various Council Committees as Deputy Chairperson of Council, Chairperson: Remunerations Committee, Human Resources Committee, Finance and Resources Committee.

He became politically active in 1972 on arrival at Mariazell High School where he together with eleven other student leaders lead the 1976 student’s uprising, arrested and detained in Kokstad. He participated in local UDF, ANC, SACP and SANCO activities.

He was part of the Botshabelo Committee Against Incorporation into QwaQwa and a member of the Botshabelo Principals’ Committee Opposed to Incorporation. In 2008 together with a number of ANC members left the Party to form the Congress of the People where he first became the Secretary for Motheo region in the Free State. He was then elected the Provincial Treasurer. At its first elective National Congress he was elected on to the Congress National Committee (CNC) and in 2015 at a Special National Congress he was elected the Acting National Treasurer therefore becoming and currently serving as a member of the Congress Executive Committee.