cope logo

CPT: 021 403 8915

JHB: 011 805 0445

08:00 - 17:00

Monday to Friday

Our People

Congress Executive Committee

The Congress Executive Committee (CEC) is the main administrative authority of the Party and the principal body charged with implementing the resolutions of the Congress National Committee.

The CEC is composed of the duly elected President, Deputy President, National Chairperson, General Secretary, Deputy General Secretary and the National Treasurer.

Mosiuoa Lekota-COPE
Mosiuoa Lekota
Mosiuoa Lekota grew up in Kroonstad, Free State. He was expelled from the University of the…
William Madisha-COPE
William Madisha
Deputy President
William Mothipa “Willie” Madisha grew up in Atteridgeville, Pretoria. He studied teaching at the Transvaal…
Teboho Loate
National Chairperson
Teboho Loate was born on 7 April 1956 in Alexander, Johannesburg. He obtained the Senior…
Rob Hutchinson
Deputy General Secretary
A job is something you have to do. Work is something you want to do.…
Mr Diratsagae Alfred Kganare
General Secretary
General Secretary at Congress of the People (COPE) (Party)
Theo Godden
National Treasurer
National Treasurer, Congress of the People

Congress National Committee

The Congress National Committee (CNC) is the highest decision-making structure of the Party in between National Congresses and is comprised of;

  1. The Chairperson of the Party,
  2. Members of the Congress Executive Committee,
  3. Members of the Organisational Division of the CNC,
  4. Members of the Policy Division of the CNC,
  5. The Provincial Chairperson and Provincial Secretaries or their Deputies, if they are not available, in a representative capacity with a right to vote,
  6. The Chapter National Leaders and Chapter General Secretaries, or their deputies, if they are not available, in a representative capacity with a right to vote.